Ubuntu 10.04- Mac?

15 May

Over the past couple of weeks since Ubuntu 10.04 was released and I, along with all the other users, have been discovering how much like Mac OSX it is becoming. I solely mean the interface, like the buttons moving to the left and all that jazz. Another feature which, while trawling through my long list of programs in Ubuntu, is an awesome little feature in GNOME DO. Encase you haven’t used GNOME Do before or are just curious on how I would describe it, it is; an awesome little application launcher which can also be used to find files. It also supports many different plugins some of which let you; send emails, update your Twitter or Facebook, or last but not least control your media player whether it be Amarok or Rythmbox.

GNOME DO's Deafault Display

GNOME DO's Deafault Display

GNOME DO is most commonly referred to as just Do. It was created by David Siegel who was inspired by Quicksilver for Mac OS X and the GNOME launch box. It isn’t restricted to just the GNOME desktop environment, it will also work in KDE which many KDE users will be happy to hear.

Now, to the point, there is a very cool theme for Do which is shipped with it, called Docky. This is what made me think so much of the Mac OS X dock. It even looks very like it, and with a bit of a dress up of the desktop and a custom theme could pass as a Mac. Docky has three hiding modes which is helpful depending on what you are doing or if you like the look of it, these are ; None- Docky is always visible, Intellihide- Docky hides if it overlaps any window in the active window group, but it can still be brought up by with mouse pointer as described above and finally Autohide- Docky is normally hidden, and appears when the mouse pointer reaches Docky’s (unseen) edge at the lower/upper edge of the screen. Compare the screenshots below and tell me if you see the resemblance.

Ubuntu OSX

Ubuntu OSX

Mac 10.04

Mac 10.04`

You can install docky by opening Do and searching Preferences then hitting enter. Then go to appearance and it is self explanatory from there.The future for docky looks bright as when Docky 2 is released it will be a standalone application which will be able to integrate with Do.

23 Responses to “Ubuntu 10.04- Mac?”

  1. kaddy May 15, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    lol you’de want to remove the bottom panel if your going to copy mac and use a dock😛

  2. istoff May 15, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    I think docky can be set to have a 3d perspective and then you’re even closer…

  3. Bob Stanfield May 15, 2010 at 10:59 am #

    I have a number of problems Ubuntu 10.04.
    1) I want IDE as an option easily available. I am a sole user (w/the exception of my wife) and want 4 desktops up and running on my general, development, business and financial accounts with multiple windows open under each account.
    2) I hate Icons. I was taught to read in 1st grade over 70 years ago. I create my own script files to do that. for open office, etc. Running around the screen w/ a track ball takes far more time than opening several push down list!
    3) You have cured several security problems that I never found to be a problem. Like I have a script for called . gives me only the first doc file. It takes to work properly. But doesn’t work, does.

    There are several many other annoying Microsoft like look a likes. I came to Linux to get away from Microsoft paternalistic interfaces.

    • Luke May 15, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

      If you’ve come to linux to get away from Microsoft paternalistic interfaces, then you’re in luck! You can customize everything! The default ubuntu interface works well for many people but not all. There’s nothing stopping you from changing your windows manager. You may need to get your hands dirty though.

  4. Jim Barber May 16, 2010 at 12:34 am #

    I have a friend who has a Mac that I have had occasion to use. I really was glad to get back to my Ubuntu Linux machine, it just seems so much easier for me to use than a Mac. I do not see the point of using Docky on Ubuntu. I would have bought a Mac if that is what I wanted. Still, It is good to see another way to configure the desktop for those who would like to have it which is why I use Ubuntu.

    Calm Seas, Following Winds,

    Jim Barber

  5. Babylon5Nut May 19, 2010 at 2:16 am #

    Actually, Gnome has always been surprisingly Mac OS and Mac OS X-like in its appearance, right down to things like the little triangles in list view expanding the hierarchy of a folder.

    Gnome == Mac OS
    KDE == Windows

    Any questions?

    • linuxandall May 22, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

      Yeah I suppose if you look closely it really is… But these things are just and added extra.

  6. Bill Melater May 22, 2010 at 7:04 am #

    More like”dorky”

  7. singer sewing machines May 28, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    Salutations, I landed across this page by error during a time that I was exploring on Google then I wandered upon here page. I feel the need to tell you that your blog is shockingly cool I really love your theme! Currently I have a great deal of spare time to browse your site in which case I saved. I will return in a day or two. Kudos for a great blog.

  8. eevee June 2, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

    since macs are exspenive i like the idea that my ubuntu looks like a mac! by the way i’m writing this as i download ubuntu 10.04!

    • linuxandall June 2, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

      Great dude it’s always good to hear about a new user. If you have any special stories of the switch, be sure to send them to me and I’ll publish them.

      • leopard June 3, 2010 at 4:57 am #

        i don,t even know were gnome do is at need i even wan,t ubuntu to look and feel like a mac need and read comments below thank you

      • leopard June 3, 2010 at 5:00 am #

        oops i,v really mean need help figuring out were is gnome do and do i make my ubuntu look and feel like mac and read comments below thank you.

  9. leopard June 3, 2010 at 4:48 am #

    dang i can,t figure out how to even get to gnome do i,v been wanting to use plus i,v been wanting to make my ubuntu machine to look more like os x as well but i can,t figure it out and not just that when i try to install something from the internet the conputer run the application not even through the terminal i think might need get a newer computer after all this is an old dell optiplex that had xp on it any way but for like 2 years i,v used linux on it. and have you any of you notice that os x,s aqua user looks any function allmost like gnome interface just with a dock system and more comercial and yes there is a way to get tiger to look like leopard… i,v been trying to make a blog on another part of this site on the section or somthing!.. sigh..

  10. leopard June 3, 2010 at 4:49 am #

    i forgot to say mac section on that last sentance of the paragraph!..

  11. Yuhan October 1, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    I am presently using Mac OSX but I’m seriously thinking about shifting to Ubuntu. I have some trepidation as I’m not very tech savvy and my sense is that Linux is geared more toward geeks. Is this true? I’m attracted by the power of Ubuntu, the fact that it’s free, and that it (supposedly) interacts easily with different formats (unlike Mac!). Also, my understanding is that Ubuntu, or any Linux distro, is almost impervious to viruses, spyware, malware, etc.

    What is the best way to begin, and what sources are there to help speed up the learning curve? Your thoughts and input will be much appreciated!

    • istoff October 1, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

      @yuhan
      I highly recommend LinuxMint instead of Ubuntu for a first time user. Its almost identical to Ubuntu with slightly tweaked settings, customised installer / update apps & ships with additional codecs as part of the default install.

      I highly recommend subscribing to a few Ubuntu specific podcasts, possibly going back in history to back issues which may help get you into the way of thinking. There are a ton of sites and the default ubuntu help forums are an awesome resource should you get stuck. There are also a number of irc channels you can join to help ease the process. I don’t want to single out a single website over another as there is a huge diverse community waiting to welcome you.

      To get started, I recommend downloading a LiveCD and testing it on your hardware. If you feel comfortable, go ahead and give it an install. I’m sure you will find a lot to like.

      • Yuhan October 1, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

        Thanks so much for the informative post! So I take it you do think it is worth making the switch from Mac? I’m already happier in Mac than I was in Windows, so it would be great if Linux is even a further step forward. But I especially appreciate your mention of LinuxMint–I had not heard of that.

        The problem with the LiveCD is that it is such a “clunker” and so slow in making transitions, that it’s hard to get an accurate sense for what it would be like. Is it possible to partition my Mac hard drive and install LinuxMint on the same drive, or is it best to use a different computer? I’ve heard there can be problems with disk partitions–especially with Mac which is always finicky! Thanks again!

  12. Run Mac OSX on Windows July 17, 2013 at 4:59 pm #

    Retrieving data from the servers may be a tedious task, causing users to make heavy downloads, but that is again a much better option than backing no data at all.
    * Gadgets and Extension Manager – Windows (and some applications) install different Gadgets
    and Extensions into your system. VOB extension media files to your desired format for such applications on move.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Microsoft/Novell Mono Lobby | Techrights - May 19, 2010

    […] the Mono-based creation of a Canonical employee (GNOME DO) occupying a majority of this new review (ish) of Ubuntu 10.04. There should be more to GNU/Linux than C#, but Canonical made the mistake of hiring from Microsoft […]

  2. Ubuntu 10.04- Mac? | Ubuntu-News - Your one stop for news about Ubuntu - May 22, 2010

    […] along with all the other users, have been discovering how much like Mac OSX it is becoming. More here I solely mean the interface, like the buttons moving to the left and all that […]

Leave a Reply

